bobquasit: (Default)
bobquasit ([personal profile] bobquasit) wrote2004-11-05 01:41 pm
Entry tags:

(no subject)

This is a response to something someone wrote in a friend's journal. I'm posting it here because I know he'd delete this, and if he did I would be pissed off enough to un-friend him, and I've already dealt with enough shit this week to last me for the next thousand years.

This needn't be a debate, because I don't believe that I could possibly convince you. However, I am morally certain that in, say, ten years, you will change your mind.

It will be far too late, of course, but that's how it goes.

Look at what Tom Delay did in Texas. This is is template for what will done for the rest of the country, and it will make it impossible for the Democrats to ever be anything but a figleaf for the one-party state.

Like I said, ten years from now you may notice that the Republicans have had, uninterrupted, near-absolute control of all branches of the Federal government and an ever-increasing majority of state governments.

No, I can't prove it, and I don't really care if you don't believe me. At this point I'm just taking what satisfaction I can from the knowledge that the people who've voted for this will get what they deserve.

Tim, I know you'll delete this, so I'll make a backup copy to my journal...ah, fuck it. I'll just put a link.

[identity profile] canology.livejournal.com 2004-11-06 02:33 am (UTC)(link)
I am willing to bet that the next president will be a democrat. Depending on who they run of course. I'd vote for Obama if he ran, assuming he doesn't prove himself corrupt or inept during his term of service. I also think that Hillary might run in 2008, which could be interesting. Remember, in 2008 there won't be a VP seeking office, so the GOP will be bringing in someone from outside the White House (most likely).

I'm sorry you're angry with the election, but I really think that in 4 years things will be different. (Different better, not different scary).

[identity profile] no-brakes23.livejournal.com 2004-11-06 05:45 pm (UTC)(link)
Well, I watched some videos of Obama, and while I know nothing of his policies, (Save that he favors better health care,) he is a good speaker. That's something we haven't had in office for awhile. (And neither candidate in this last election was easy to listen to, Bush with his constant verbal fuck-ups and Kerry with his insincere sounding nasal drone.)

That's not truly a major consideration for me in a candidate, but it certainly makes a difference, in their image as a leader. I will be watching notable Democrats for the next four years to evaluate them for '08. I think Hillary will run in '08, but I am not sure which barrier will be broken in America first, that of a black president or a female president.

It will be interesting.

[identity profile] canology.livejournal.com 2004-11-06 09:48 pm (UTC)(link)
Now if Condaleeza Rice would just run we could break both barriers with one rather hot stone.

:)

[identity profile] bobquasit.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 02:49 pm (UTC)(link)
See, this is a bit like drugs. I need to stop having this conversation. In part because I don't think that it is a conversation; it's just building up the evidence file for the day when I'm "disappeared". Does that sound paranoid? You bet your ass it does! I'm quite aware of it, thanks.

But the government claims that is has the legal power to make people disappear, so perhaps paranoia is appropriate.

The next President will not be a Democrat. Check Black Box Voting (http://www.blackboxvoting.com/) to see some of the reasons that I am virtually certain of this. I feel very safe in predicting that no Democrat will ever again be elected to the US presidency. Likewise the House and Senate will never again change hands.

It won't matter what candidate is run, because the system is now rigged; on top of that the Rove machine will be passing a number of bills which will essentially split the Democratic base right down the middle, starting with Social Security. That said, unless Obama gets a white transplant he'll be unelectable in the red states. And Hillary - who is still the most hated woman in the world, at least in the red states, and is a go-along-to-get-along politician, besides - couldn't possibly win. But it doesn't matter, because NO ONE could win on the Democratic ticket.

Take a look at the record ten years from now, and see if I'm right.

I am not "angry" about the election. Or rather, anger is a relatively minor part of the equation. What I have is fear. Fear that I am living in what is rapidly becoming a modern version of the classic fascist state. I also have a great deal of sorrow, because, believe it or not, I loved America.

[identity profile] canology.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 08:13 pm (UTC)(link)
I hope you are very, very wrong.

[identity profile] charibdis.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 08:00 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm willing to bet you're wrong. How much are you willing to put on the line for this?

I am dead certain that, no matter who the democrats run, the press will make him out to seem incompetent, corrup, and disgusting. I am also dead certain that, no matter who the Republicans run, somehow he will get elected. the fact that Bush won over Kerry pretty much proves that.

[identity profile] canology.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 08:20 pm (UTC)(link)
Well... are we really going to keep in touch enough for you to collect from me if I'm wrong?

I just see this past election differently... it seems like just a case of a republican incumbent getting reelected during wartime. If things go the way that you are predicting, I will be joining the rebellion along side you all. I feel pretty safe saying that however, since I sincerely doubt that that will happen.

[identity profile] charibdis.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 09:02 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm not sure about this rebellion business. REvolutions almost always result in worse governments then the country had before.

AS for collecting, well, I don't know. I could give you an email address so we could keep in touch if you like (I'm not usually too active on LJ). More that I just wanted to state quite emphatically that I am willing to bet, and bet considerably. This is one of my own peculiarties though, in part. I tend to be willing to bet on really bad things happening as, if they do happen, I get some money out of it (not worht them happening, but it helps a little), and if they don't happen I don't mind losing money at all.

The fact that a republican got elected during wartime didn't bother me. The fact that the same man who stole the election four years ago and got us into two unnecessary wars, one of them by massive lies which most people still believe in this country, after ignoring information that would have allowed him to prevent a massive terrorist attack, and who single-handedly brought us from a minor recession to the brink of economic collapse while directing a hate campaign against a group that cannot defend themselves to bolster his support, the fact that this man got reelected despite all he has done is what bothers me.

I will acknowledge that not everyone sees it this way (obviously), but I do.

[identity profile] canology.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 09:06 pm (UTC)(link)
Uh... I don't have enough money right now to make any kind of large bet. I didn't really think you were serious.

I still hope you are wrong.

[identity profile] charibdis.livejournal.com 2004-11-08 09:16 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah. Me too. :(