Lucky me - Obama post blocked
I was going to post this over on an LJ Obama community. But I was blocked, because it's members-only. And now that I think of it, that's a damned good thing. I don't want to deal with the inevitable flaming.
But I did think that someone should warn them, so when Obama/Pelosi/Reid/Hoyer fuck this country up completely, they couldn't claim that nobody warned them.
I desperately need a new hobby so I can stop paying attention to politics...
But I did think that someone should warn them, so when Obama/Pelosi/Reid/Hoyer fuck this country up completely, they couldn't claim that nobody warned them.
Well, he lost my vote and my support over that. So did the Democratic leadership. Amnesty for the telecoms? Aiding Bush in covering up widescale violation of the 4th Amendment? Pelosi could have stopped this - instead she voted for it.
The fact is that the Democratic leadership has been trying to cover up their own involvement in this all along. Steny Hoyer and others kept trying to give the telcos - big campaign donors, all - immunity. But I honestly never thought that Obama would go along with them. I guess he's just another lying crook after all.
Time to throw away my vote, I guess. I can't stomach voting for Obama OR McCain, so I'll have to find a third party. Am I happy about that? Not at all. But I'm not going to vote for someone who just sold America's 4th Amendment rights to the highest bidder.
We've had a chance to see what happened when Republicans started compromising their principles for the sake of power and influence, starting with Reagan and ending up with Bush. If the Democratic leadership wants to go that way - and they obviously do - than I, for one, am not willing to take that ride with them. When the party and our country are a ruin and a disgrace, I'll at least have the comfort of knowing that I didn't throw my vote away by supporting either major party candidate, because they're both whores.
Sometimes the answer to Hobson's choice is to just walk away.
I desperately need a new hobby so I can stop paying attention to politics...

no subject
YOU
(Anonymous) 2008-06-24 01:57 pm (UTC)(link)Re: YOU
Just how worked up does a person have to be to search out a blog and engage in that sort of witty repartee? Talk about your Oscar Wilde!
no subject
(Anonymous) 2008-06-24 05:47 pm (UTC)(link)no subject